Chapter 5.44: Storm Relief

03-24-16_9-41-16 AM

“Lou! There you are! I’ve been waiting for you to get home from work.” Leland said, sitting at the dining room table in his ghostly form.

Lou stopped in shock. “Dad!”

Leland started to stand up and Lou looked at him incredulously.

“What are you doing here?” She guffawed.

He smiled. “I want to apologize. I want to apologize for how I took my mean-hearted tendencies out on you. You didn’t- no, you don’t deserve that. You do the best that you can. And I love you. I always have.”

“Oh, Dad,” she cried, tears streaming down her face as she wished she could embrace him in a hug.

“I know you will make the right decisions in your life. Don’t tell Dexter, but I’ve always thought you were the smart one.” He winked and the two of them shared a tearful laugh before he had to fade back to wherever he was now.

03-24-16_9-41-31 AM

“I love you, too, Dad,” Lou whispered once he was no longer visible.

One thought on “Chapter 5.44: Storm Relief

Leave a Reply

