Chapter 4.30: I’m Not The Heir, Life’s Not Fair

Lou has been taking to the internet to deal with her frustrations in life. The most recent frustration is that her dad, Leland, finally announced the heir to the legacy throne. Much to her dismay, the heir was NOT her incredible self. Clearly this was a travesty that needed to be aired on her blog- “Life with Lou.”10-26-15_7-50-28 PMDear Readers,

I regret to *cough* am here to inform you that my oldest brother, Dexter, has been chosen as the family heir. I love him, but I really don’t see how he was chosen over me. First of all, this family has a clear pattern of usually choosing female heirs. Dad was simply an anomaly since Gran Gran didn’t have any biological daughters to carry on the gene pool. But Dexter just doesn’t make any sense. I’m a woman. I’m the rightful heir! Or, at least, I should be… even if this legacy technically doesn’t adhere to any gender-based heir laws according to the official documents.

Furthermore, I think I have so much more to offer the legacy than Dex does. I am smart, funny, beautiful and confident. Dexter has spent his life nearly afraid of his own shadow he is so timid around others! How is a man like that supposed to lead a family? Okay, okay… so now he’s suddenly much more ambitious, but I just can’t stop seeing him as that nervous, anxious teenager who doesn’t do much else but sit in the corner and think. How is he going to make any money?! If all he ever does is think… goodness, he should be pursuing a career in Philosophy, NOT heirship.

At least I’m not going to get kicked out of the house or anything. I mean, I have no doubts that I would be able to make it on my own if I were, since I’m so resourceful, but I just don’t want to be tossed aside like a plate of stale kale chips. I want to leave when it’s my own decision to leave. My parents are very supportive of that, at least. Even if my father doesn’t seem to know what is best for this legacy…

Oh, shoot! Someone’s knocking on the door, so I better run. I don’t want any of my family reading this blog post… that could be a disaster!

à bientôt,
Lou

9 thoughts on “Chapter 4.30: I’m Not The Heir, Life’s Not Fair

  1. Jes2G says:

    Awww poor Lou. You know what? I think I forgot about how the legacy has had heiresses up until now. I think I just assumed it was always Dexter because he’s the firstborn. Well…COOL! Nice to know, officially, that he’s it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Renée Lenore says:

      Yeah, I mean, generally I ended up going with whoever was born first, but this legacy had a long string of girls for first children. Dexter was actually the FIRST out of all of the generations so far to be both the oldest AND a boy. Leland was technically the youngest of his generation- Jolie and Elaina were adopted, and then when August and Leland were born August was born first. Basically all of my “heir-determining” succession laws are as flexible as they can be- modern, equality, and merit based. HA HA H.

      Like

  2. theplumbob says:

    I feel you Lou! I actually like her and Dexter equally, so I don’t think I could have made that call! How did you end up deciding which one to go for in the end?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ny275 says:

    Hi there! I’ve been kind of a ghost reader for a little while as I like to wait until I am all caught up to comment. This is not always easy- especially when updates keep happening lol! I really love this legacy and actually found it through Jes’ Pruett Legacy. I am all caught up in her legacy so when I saw Dexter was a significant person, I quickly caught up here and I must say I am quite upset I have not caught up sooner. Also, one last thing before my comment just keeps expanding- I love your writing style too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Renée Lenore says:

      Aw! Wow! Thank you so much! You have no idea how happy this makes me. 🙂 I am so glad that you are reading, and that you are getting enjoyment out of the crossover. I also completely understand about wanting to wait until you are caught up with a story before you comment on it, but also understand how difficult that can be! It’s something I struggle with constantly. Welcome to the Waite Legacy, officially, even though you have been reading for a while.

      Like

Leave a Reply

