Chapter 4.5 – Tales of Love and Finding Yourself

“Hey, Dad, as a loner was it hard for you to find someone that you love?” Dexter asked his father as they sat down together for a game of chess.

Leland wasn’t quite sure what to say about that, because his love for Meya came so easy- yet, he still didn’t really know a lot of people outside of the family, and generally meeting new people was something that he avoided. Perhaps it was just chance, or fate, that he bumped into Meya at the park when he did. He stroked his chin as he thought these things, and he looked across the chess table at his child.

“Dexter, there’s a lot about this world that I don’t understand. Plum, I think most everyone gets everything wrong a few times in their lives. And look at me! I don’t really like people. I mean, I prefer being alone, and even when I’m with people I can’t keep my foot out of my mouth because I’m not the nicest sim. Love is really important, but there are different kinds of love. You love your Gran Gran, right? And your brother and sister? Just because you may not find a supposed True Love with capital first letters does not mean that you are doing something wrong. I think it’s hard for a lot of people to find love. I’ve heard of outgoing, romantic sims who spend years searching for that special someone and then one day, a sim falls into their path and something beautiful begins. I’ve also heard of sims who meet and fall in love with multiple sims, but then fall right back out, or maybe they lose a loved one because of death and a second sim will enter their lives.”

Dexter was quite introspective and looked straight at his father. “So, what you’re saying is, regardless of my traits I may or may not find love quickly or easily?”
07-13-15_10-16 PM-5“Let me show you one of my favorite books,” Leland suggested, grabbing it off the nearby bookshelf and motioning for Leland to sit down on the couch beside him. “It’s a story about find oneself in all of the chaos of life, and appreciating who you are- all of the good things and bad things about you – and finding the people to surround yourself with while you make life’s journeys.”

Dexter paid keen attention as Leland started reading. He wanted to know all of these things!

07-13-15_10-18 PM-6

“So many things are possible, if you just go for them.” Leland explained, hoping that it wouldn’t be said in vain. He could see so much of himself in Dexter, but he also knew that Dexter had so much possibility for becoming his own incredible self.

07-13-15_10-19 PM-2

10 thoughts on “Chapter 4.5 – Tales of Love and Finding Yourself

    • Renée Lenore says:

      Ha ha ha! ❤ Awww. I am so glad that you have been reading. I really feel like I'm growing as a writer of sims stories (it often feels SO different from any of the other writing I do). And I want to share my sims with other people, so when others read my stories and respond to them it makes my whole day. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Renée Lenore says:

      Yeah, for some reason Dexter brings out all of the introspective wisdom that Leland holds. Despite the fact that Leland is a Mean sim, he has always had a soft spot for Dexter. I’ve never seen him autonomously be rude to the child, not even once. And they spend a lot of time together too.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. ARoseInBloom says:

    Great chapter! I think that we complicate love so much by trying to make it out to be this grand, overwhelming thing. The truth is, love is actually easy. Not always easy to find, but first find it within yourself and then the rest will follow!

    Love this chapter. And love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

